No Sense Crying Over Spilled Breastmilk?

I’ve never understood that saying, “no sense crying over spilled milk.”
Since becoming a mom who exclusively breastfeeds that saying is completey wrong!!!

The breast feeding experience has been a long, rough but enjoying journey with my little girl. Hard at first. After a couple of months we finally got the hang of it and breast feeding became second nature to us.
Back to the beginning. My milk supply was plentiful and I would have to pump and store it in the freezer. Starting to store milk early on is always a good thing. I even had an extra few pumping sessions at work when I started back. I used the Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags that worked great in the freezer. I would store my milk in the regular freezer above the fridge and when I would run out of room there I put them in a box in the deep freezer. This was working out great and I had about 3 months of milk stored for those days of weaning. I had made it a goal of mine to never put my baby on formula.
I breastfeed when I am with her, which is most of the time, and she is bottle fed pumped breastmilk when I am at work. I only work 2-3 days a week. The morning of when our babysitter came to pick her up I would get out the oldest dated and the right amount of frozen milk for that day. Of course the oldest dated happened to be in the deep freezer in a box.
We have all had one of those mornings running around the house trying to get ready, you and baby both while baby is in tow on your hip. I happened to be running late this one morning and went to get the milk out of the freezer. I really need a better system because I had to dig around looking for the right dates. Once found I handed them to the babysitter and proceeded to get ready for work.
The next morning before work I went to get out more milk for little girl. My heart dropped to my stomach and my stomach rose to my throat. I LEFT THE MILK OUT! In complete denial I immediately put it back in the freezer and kept my composer until my baby had left. Then I balled like a baby myself. I had lost at least a month’s worth of pumped breastmilk. Honestly I would have cried if it was a week’s worth. Pumping is not easy work and all my hard work was sitting right there on top of the deep freezer in a waste.
This may not of been spilled milk but it might of well have been and I believe it made perfect sense to cry over it. Needless to say I won’t do that again. Oh and by the way this happened a week ago and the bad milk is still in the deep freezer, I know it’s not good anymore I just can’t bear the thought of throwing it away.

Has this happened to any of you BF moms and would you have reacted the same way?

Mother’s milk is very precious down to the last drop!

2 thoughts on “No Sense Crying Over Spilled Breastmilk?

  1. I would have reacted the same way – probably would have needed a Xanax and a glass of wine. I’m so sorry you lost it but you WILL rebuild your frozen supply. Sounds like your little girl is swimming in milk and has everything she could possibly need. Nice work 🙂

    • Thank you. I am working even harder to rebuild my supply with extra pumping sessions. She drinks more than I can pump when I’m at work and as of now I only have a day’s worth of stored milk!!!

Leave a Reply

